24.4 C
torek, 28 septembra, 2021

356 migrants onboard the Ocean Viking to be taken in by six EU countries

Six European Union member states have agreed to take in hundreds of illegal migrants from North Africa who are currently on board the migrant ferry operated by the NGO Doctors Without Borders and SOS Méditerrané.

The French NGO migrant ferry the Ocean Viking was previously not allowed to dock in Malta and Italy.

Last Friday, the Maltese government announced that all 356 illegal migrants who are currently aboard the ship will be distributed among six EU member states. 

Malta’s Prime Minister Joseph Muscat took to Twitter to say that Ireland, Luxembourg, Portugal, Romania, and France would be taking the migrants in.

Muscat said that the migrants would be transferred to Maltese naval ships in international waters, then brought to Malta, before they’re finally redistributed to the six European countries.





Latest news

Plans afloat to suspend rule of law in Hungary

By: V4 Agency The campaign to suspend the rule of law by pledging to disregard the constitution is under way. Leading left-wing opposition parties are...

European blockchain week 2021

By: UKOM European Blockchain Week 2021 (EBCW 2021) was one of the soundest events in the framework of Slovenian Presidency of the Council of EU....

Infectious disease specialist Federico Potočnik told, without mincing his words, some bold statements about angry anti-vaccinators

By: T. F. / Nova24tv During the new wave of the epidemic, the Christian weekly Družina talked to Dr Federico Potočnik, an expert and infectologist...

Anti-government media and anti-vaccines caused alarming epidemiological conditions in Slovenia

By: Nina Žoher / Nova24tv The European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) estimates that Slovenia and Lithuania are among the countries in the...

Related news

Italian “smuggled” Pakistanis!

By: C.R. Yesterday afternoon, police officers in Breg near Kočevje stopped a vehicle with Italian license plates. In the proceedings, it was established that the Italian...

People smuggling network assisted by police staff disbanded

By: V4 Agency The network was busted after years of investigation. Members include police employees, who are suspected of assisting the refugees by obtaining visas...

After the elections in Germany and France, the EU will introduce “repackaged” forced migrant quotas

By UME Brussels bureaucrats seem certain of a radical shift to the left in elections in Europe's largest member states, and then it's time to...

A vehicle was confiscated from a Macedonian for transporting migrants

By: C.R. While performing the tasks of protecting the state border in the area of Preloka (PS Črnomelj), the police tracked down and arrested...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here